Abuja to host Glo-CAF Awards again

Next Story

DSS should probe more corrupt judges – Protesters tells Buhari

The 2016 Gala event of the prestigious Glo-CAF Awards will be held on January 5, 2017 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

Image result for Abuja to host Glo-CAF Awards again

This is the third time that the city of Abuja will host the Awards, having hosted the inaugural edition in 2005 and the 2015 edition.

CAF, Africa’s highest football body, in a statement said: “The 2016 Glo-CAF Awards will be held in the city of Abuja, Nigeria and the new African Footballer of the Year, the greatest African football legends and 15 winners in other categories will be unveiled during the Gala night.”

READ Archive:   Manchester United will be Ibrahimovic’s biggest challenge – Jose Mourinho

Other categories include African Player of The Year (Based in Africa), National Team of The Year, Club of The Year and Coach of The Year.

Also to be unveiled are Most Promising Talent, Women’s National Team of The Year, Woman Player of The Year, Referee of The Year, African Legend, CAF Fair Play Award, Platinum Award – which is usually reserved for the President of the host country, Africa Finest XI and Youth Player of The Year.

Gabon-born Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang who plays for Borussia Dortmund FC of Germany is the current African champion, having won the last edition while the 2015 African Player of the Year – Based in Africa- is Mbwana Ally Samatta of Tanzania.

READ Archive:   Chelsea ‘dominant from first minute to last’ against Manchester United – Cahill

The Glo-sponsored annual award is expected to congregate top football celebrities and government officials across Africa, the statement said.

Globacom took over the sponsorship of awards in 2005 and the event has been held in several cities across Africa.

One thought on “Abuja to host Glo-CAF Awards again

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *