Buhari nominates Mamora, Tallen, Ibeto, 43 others as ambassadors…See full list

Next Story

The Other Room is Where You Worship the Woman as a 'god' - Nollywood Actress, Chioma Akpotha Reacts

President Muhammadu Buhari has sent the names of 46 nominees to the Senate as ambassadors.


Some of the names were mentioned by the Senate President Bukola Saraki on the senate floor on Thursday, among whom are Pauline Tallen, Olorunnimbe Mamora, George Oguntade, a former justice of the supreme court, also from Lagos state and Musa Ibeto who was formerly nominated minister before his nomination was withdrawn in 2015.

Mamora, a former speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, was also a member of the Senate and he is an ally of ex-Lagos Governor Bola Tinubu.

READ Archive:   ‘Only 40 CCTV cameras out of 1000 work in Abuja’ - Police

Ms. Tallen is a former Plateau State deputy governor while Ibeto is a former Niger State deputy governor.

Buhari had earlier on June 9 sent a list of 47 new career ambassadors to the Senate for confirmation.

Other names on the list are ‎Nurudeen Mohammed (Kwara); Jamila Ahmadu-Suka (Sokoto); Suleiman Hassan (Gombe); Yusuf Tugar (Bauchi) ; Usman Bugaje‎ (Katsina)‎, Uzoma Emenike (Abia); Clifford Zirra (Adamawa); Godwin Umo (Akwa Ibom); Christopher Okeke (Anambra); Baba Madugu (Bauchi); Stanley Diriyai (Bayelsa); Enyantu Ifenne (Benue); Mohammed Hayatuddeen (Borno); Etuborn Asuquo (Cross River); Francis Efeduma (Delta); Jonah Odo (Ebonyi); Uyagwe. Igbe (Edo).

READ Archive:   Norway PM joins ‘napalm girl’ protest against Facebook

Others are Ayodele Ayodeji (Ekiti); Chris Eze (Enugu); Muhammad Dalhatu (Jigawa); Mohammad Yaro (Kaduna); Deborah Iliya (Kaduna); D Abdulkadir (Kano); Haruna Ungogo (Kano); Isa Dodo (Katsina); Tijani Bande (Kebbi); Y O Aliu (Kogi); Mohammed Yisa (Kwara); Modupe Irele (Lagos); Musa Mohammad (Nasarawa); Ade Asekun (Ogun); Sola Iki (Ondo), and Adegboyega Ogunwusi (Osun).

Also, Ashimiyu Olaniyi (Oyo); Haruna Bawa Abdullahi (Plateau); Orji Ngofa (Rivers) Sylvanus Adiewere Nsofor (Rivers), Kabiru Umar (Sokoto); Mustapha Jaji (Taraba); Zanna Bura (Yobe); Garba Gajam (Zamfara), and Abdullahi Garbasi (Zamfara) are on the list.‎

READ Archive:   Brexit will limit financial grants to Nigeria and others – Don

In June, the president had sent a list of 47 career ambassadors to the senate for confirmation.‎ But their appointment has not been confirmed by the upper legislative chamber.

Although, the ambassadors-designate were screened in July, a controversy over the exclusion of some states from the list stalled the exercise.

3 thoughts on “Buhari nominates Mamora, Tallen, Ibeto, 43 others as ambassadors…See full list

  1. Na wa o, what are the functions of these "non career" ambassadors? No wonder PDP hasn't been able to bounce back after defeat, there is so much room to feed in the presidency, so many appointments to settle people with...no wonder

    Like (2)
    Dislike (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *