REVEALED: Liverpool’s Roberto Firmino could have had goal disallowed for removing shirt

Next Story

Man Utd star not for sale despite failure to win over Mourinho

Liverpool forward Roberto Firmino scored a lovely goal against Crystal Palace in Saturday’s 4-2 win, and picked up a yellow card for taking his shirt off in celebration. Fair enough, end of story, right?

Revealed: Firmino celebration should technically have seen goal v Palace disallowed

Revealed: Firmino celebration should technically have seen goal v Palace disallowed

Wrong. Apparently the Reds star could have cost his side the goal altogether for actually starting the process of removing his shirt before the ball had actually crossed the goal line.

According to the Liverpool Echo, this has to be seen as a bit of a grey area, though the laws of the game technically state that the referee would be entitled to see this as a disruption worthy of blowing for a free-kick to the home side.
If play is stopped to caution the player, an indirect free kick shall be awarded to the opposing team from the position of the ball when play was stopped.

READ Archive:   Diego Costa should have been sent off – Slaven Bilic

Thankfully, common sense won on this occasion as the ball was clearly about to bounce into the goal when Firmino started his celebration.

Still, the Brazilian might want to be more careful in future, because while a yellow card is a small price to pay for a slightly over-the-top celebration, he woudn’t want to miss out on a goal because of it.

3 thoughts on “REVEALED: Liverpool’s Roberto Firmino could have had goal disallowed for removing shirt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *