Senate confirms Durajaiye, others as NCC chairman, commissioners

Next Story

Lahm will not retire yet, he still has four years left in him – Martinez

Senator Olabiyi Durajaiye has been confirmed as Chairman of the Nigeria Communications Commission, while five others were also confirmed as Commissioners, executive and non-executive members respectively.



However, the Chairman of the Committee, Gilbert Nnaji, urged the Senate to decline confirmation of Aliyu Sa’ida Abubakar from Bauchi state for lack of certificate.

In his report, Nnaji hinted that Aliyu Abubakar hurriedly procured a diploma in Computer Studies from Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, on the same day his name was forwarded to the Senate for appointment, a situation, Nnaji said, was questionable.

Another nominee who failed Senate’s approval was Pastor Ezekiel Yissa who hailed from Kwara State on the ground that he lost his certificate and didn’t present a court affidavit.

READ Archive:   Reps direct INEC to conduct outstanding elections in Rivers, Anambra

The Senate consequently confirmed Sunday Dare, Clement Omeiza Baiye, Chief Okoi Ofem, Obono Obla and Senator Ifeanyi Ararume.

Meanwhile, Mr Peter Igo Weli was also confirmed as a member of the Niger Delta Development Commission following a report submitted by Senator Peter Nwaoboshi.

The Senate had earlier stepped down Weli’s approval on the grounds that he was not from oil producing communities.

One thought on “Senate confirms Durajaiye, others as NCC chairman, commissioners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *