Senate swears-in Southeast’s only APC senator, one other

Next Story

Tinubu’s allegations not true – Odigie-Oyegun

According to reports,  the Senate on Tuesday swore-in the only All Progressives Congress (APC) Senator in the South-East zone, Hon. Ben Uwajumogu, representing Okigwe (Imo North) senatorial district of Imo State.


Uwajumogu was declared winner of the July rerun election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) having defeated his closest challenger, Chief Athan Achonu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), whose election was nullified on the ground of logo omission on the ballot papers.

Recall that the Senator-elect had showed up for the swearing-event at the National Assembly complex last week Thursday with his retinue of supporters and political allies including traditional rulers, but could not be sworn-in for what insiders described as communication gap.

READ Archive:   Don’t prosecute Jonathan, Bayelsa PDP chieftain begs Buhari

Also, Senator Isaac Alfa of the PDP was also sworn-in to represent Kogi East senatorial zone.

4 thoughts on “Senate swears-in Southeast’s only APC senator, one other

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *